6th position for Cypriot Hackers at the European Cybersecurity Competition (ECSC)

The Cyprus Cybersecurity Team ranked 6th at the European Cyber Security Chalenge (ECSC) held in Prague, from September 28 to October 1,  2021.The result is considered very encouraging for the "Cypriot hackers" since Cyprus counts only its fourth participation in the event.

A total of 19 European countries including Canada participated in the competition, with young people from 14 to 26 years old. The groups included pupils, students, professionals as well as self-taught hackers, researchers and cybersecurity specialists. The top three places were taken by Germany, Poland and Italy.

The Cypriot Team consists of Konstantinos Diomedes (Team Leader), Neophytos Christou, Vassilis Charalambous, Christos Makridis, Leonidas Stylianou, Christodoulos Sotiriou, Haris Hadjiantonis, Joseph Modestou (student), Marios Kailis (student) and Christos Falas. The team was accompanied and trained by the coaches: Vassilis Sikkis, Simon Loizides, Andreas Pogiatzis, Nikolas Markitanis, Kyriakos Georgiou and Marios Nikolaidis.

The Cyprus Team won the impressions with the head of challenges of the competition, Jiří Bartušek, making special mention of the team’s participation. When asked about which national team surprised them the most, he said: "It is difficult to say but I believe this is Cyprus. I expected from all the teams something better, something bigger but Cyprus was the country that achieved this".

The ECSC competition is an initiative of the European Network and Information Security Agency (ENISA) and aims to identify new cybersecurity talents and encourage young people to pursue careers  in relevant fields.  

The whole effort was supported by the Cyprus Computer Society and the Cyprus Cybersecurity Community CYberMouflons. The Cyprus CCSC  2021  was  under the auspices of the Ministry of Defence,  the Digital Security Authority and the Office of the Commissioner for  Communications and was approved by the Ministry of Education, Sports and Youth.

The participation of the Cyprus Cybersecurity Team would not have been possible without the sponsors: ADACOM Cyber Security, Deloitte, European University Cyprus, Grant Thornton, KPMG, Oracle Academy, UCLan Cyprus, University of Nicosia as well as support from Bulletproof, Offensive Security, ICSI, QSecure, Robo.com.cy, Roothunt Cyber, Runesec, Silensec and SCP School of Certified Professionals.

More information on the  websites,  https://ecsc.eu/,  https://www. ccsc.org. cy  and  on social networks.

Views: 6

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of Unite IT: The e-Inclusion Network in Europe to add comments!

Join Unite IT: The e-Inclusion Network in Europe

© 2021   Created by Unite-IT Manager.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service