The 19th ITU Plenipotentiary Conference @ Bussan Korea


                    Dr. Hamadoun Toure,,, ITU secretory general 2007 - 2014)

The 19th ITU Plenipotentiary Conference is a three weeks (20 October to 7 November 2014) biggest event in ITU’s calendar in Bussan Republic of Korea. It gathered nearly three thousand delegates from Member States, along with other groups from ITU’s membership including private businesses, international organizations, civil society and academia. The conference addresses important issues for the future of the Union, ranging from digital inclusion to broadband roll-out.

The plenipotentiary conference is ITU’s top policy-making body. Held every four years, plenipotentiary conferences determine the Union’s strategic direction and priorities, adopt its strategic and financial plans, and develop policies and recommendations in the light of industry developments, to help the Union address the evolving needs of its membership.

The top topic was the election of the Union’s five top executives, as well as the 12 members of the Radio Regulations Board and the 48 Member States to serve on the ITU Council over the next four years.

Also they approved a Strategic Plan, the Financial Plan and deciding on the future direction of ITU covering the years 2016–2019.

The meeting discussed the proposals to increase youth participation and empowering women (gender equality) with emphasis on the younger generation seeking the ICT leaders of tomorrow and strengthen ITU in years to come. The meeting concentrated on the transfer of information society to knowledge society and the Internet of Things, with people and devices connected wirelessly, and technology seamlessly interoperable. They go deep on role of broadband in bridging the digital divide and they expect around 40 per cent of the global population will be online by the end of this year

  Dr. Hamadoun, Shela (secretariat), Ahmed Eisa (GDCO) & Mrs. Hamadoun


The ITU’s top executives (new leaders) for 2015-2018

1- Houlin Zhao

            GDCO @@@@ ITU World Telecom conferences Doha Qatar 2014

                   WELCOME Mr. Houlin Zhao

Houlin Zhao of China was the former deputy of ITU secretory general. he is elected as the next Secretary-General. In an election that took place on 23 October 2014, Mr Zhao received 152 votes from 156 ballot papers deposited. The required majority was 77.

2- Malcolm Johnson

Malcolm Johnson of the United Kingdom was elected ITU Deputy Secretary-General. Mr. Johnson won the election in the fourth round with 104 votes out of 168 countries present and voting. The required majority in that round was 85. 

3- Brahima Sanou

     AHMED EISA ,,,  Brahima Sanou,, Dr. hamadoun Toure,, François Rancy

 Brahima Sanou of Burkina Faso was re-elected as Director of the ITU Telecommunication Development Bureau (BDT) with 166 votes out of 166 countries present and voting and the required majority was 84.

4 - François Rancy

François Rancy of France was re-elected Director of the ITU Radio communication Bureau (BR) with 166 votes  out of 166 countries present and voting and the required majority was 84.

5- Chaesub Lee

 Chaesub Lee of the Republic of Korea was elected as Director of the ITU Telecommunication Standardization Bureau (TSB) with 87 votes out of 169 countries present. voting required majority was 85    

Views: 118

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of Unite IT: The e-Inclusion Network in Europe to add comments!

Join Unite IT: The e-Inclusion Network in Europe

© 2021   Created by Unite-IT Manager.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service