welcome to the e-world 2011awards

welcome to e-world 2011 awards home page


The eWorld 2011 Awards have been instituted with the primary aim of felicitating and acknowledging unique and innovative initiatives in the use of Information and Communication Technology for Development (ICT4D). These awards would be given away during the eWorld Forum being organized  between August 1 - 3 at New Delhi, India.

These awards would be instrumental in promoting the most innovative initiatives in the domain of ICT4D and to spread awareness about the role of ICT in addressing social concerns in the domain of governance and health. The eWorld 2011 Awards would be given to the distinguished global ICT initiatives in the fields of:

a) ICT Innovation in Governance

b) ICT Innovation in Healthcare

c) ICT Innovation promoting Millennium Development Goals of:

i. Eradicating Extreme Poverty and Hunger

ii. Promoting Gender Equality and Empowering Women

iii. Reducing Child Mortality

iv. Improving Maternal Health

v. Combating HIV-AIDS, Malaria and other diseases

vi. Ensuring Environmental Sustainability

vii. Developing a Global Partnership for Development

 eWorld Awards 2011 will be given under following

 eWorld Public Choice Award

Nominated projects will be screened and put online for the public to vote. Projects receiving the maximum number of votes under each category will receive the eWorld Public Choice Award.

 eWorld Jury Choice Award

Nominations will be screened by an eminent panel of jury members, who will then choose the best project from each category. The selected project will receive the eWorld Jury Choice Award

 Nominations are invited from government and non-governmental organizations (NGOs), bi-lateral, multi-lateral developmental organizations, private institutions  and enterprises.

Nomination Fees: The nomination fees of each nominated project is INR 10000 / USD 300.

Please Note: Only the Government Organizations and Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs) are exempted to pay any nomination fees while nominating their own program / initiatives / projects for eWorld Awards 2011. However, for any Private Sector / Company / Organization that nominates government projects / initiatives / programs, the nomination fee of INR 10,000 / USD 300 is applicable.

Award Structure

The awards for each of the above categories would be given to each of the following regions:

** Asia Pacific



**North America

**South America

In addition to the above regions, there will also be one ‘Global Award’ for each category.

Nominations are open till  30 may 2011

Award Objectives

  • To encourage institutions leaders to use and apply ICT tools in various developmental and sector-specific projects in governance and health
  • To identify and popularize emerging leaders and innovative projects from the different sectors and from different countries of the development community, including the grassroots organizations
  • To identify and felicitate a project that exemplifies the kind of implementation that can be easily replicated and at the same time proves efficient and sustainable for other countries and regions
  • To promote the most innovative initiatives in the domain of ICT4D
  • To spread awareness about the role of ICTs in addressing social concerns
  • To emphasize the instrumental effectiveness of ICT based applications  

The institutions who wish to nominate themselves or others for the eWorld 2011 Awards need to furnish details about the projects they are involved with. The nominated projects will be evaluated according to the following criteria:

  • Economic cost and sustainability, stakeholder support
  • Gender parity, and other inclusiveness indicators
  • Impact on livelihoods and society in general
  • Demonstrable effects on the project target groups
  • Community initiatives and ownership
  • The measure and potential of replication
  • Extent of collaboration

eWorld 2011 Awards would be vetted by certain procedures and rules governing the evaluation of the entries. It is pertinent to be informed that the entire process of evaluation and reporting will be conducted according to certain norms and schedules. The call for nominations for the eWorld 2011 Awards will be opened till 30 May 2011.

The Award selection process will go through a dual process of Jury as well as public voting system. The online voting starts from 10 June 2011 – 5 July 2011. The selected winners will be felicitated at the ‘Award Ceremony’ of eWorld Forum 2011.

Selection Procedure

The selection procedure for award nomination is sequential.

  •  The institutions/projects will be first nominated through an online form downloadable fromwww.eworldforum.net/awards
  • The institutions/projects will be verified and reviewed by a team of in-house reviewers. Any additional information, if required, will be asked accordingly
  • The institutions / projects will be evaluated according to the criteria mentioned above
  • The evaluated nominations will be opened for online voting

Views: 83

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of Unite IT: The e-Inclusion Network in Europe to add comments!

Join Unite IT: The e-Inclusion Network in Europe

© 2020   Created by Unite-IT Manager.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service